Victorious!

"But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ." I Corinthians 15:58

My Shallow View of Deliverance

Romans dragging Jesus by Rob Sheridan

Today’s reading is Matthew 27.

I learned something I don’t like about myself from today’s reading. At the foot of the cross, the scribes and elders mocked Jesus saying, “He trusts in God; let God deliver him now, if he desires him.” They thought that if God were really there, if God really cared about Jesus, and Jesus really were God’s child, then God would have to bring Him off the cross right then. I realize I often think in that very same shallow way about deliverance. Surely if God is really there, really cares, and I’m really His, He’ll deliver me from every hardship. However, Jesus really did trust God, God really was with Him, and God let Him die. Why? Because God’s plans for Jesus were greater than bringing Him down from the cross. When God is not delivering me on my time table from some hardship, I need to remember it is because God’s plans for me are greater than simply removing that particular hardship from me at that time. Praise the Lord!

Tomorrow’s reading is Matthew 28.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, I know there are a lot of things you need to learn as you grow up about glorifying God and about what He has done for us. But I hope you will always remember what you read in today’s chapter. This is the central message. God came into the world in flesh and He went to the cross for you, to save you from your sins. When you finally come face to face with your own sins, remember this chapter and this lesson. Don’t let your sins keep you from Jesus. Rather remember this and come face to face with Jesus. Let His death cleanse you of your sin.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment